• The Regulatory Reference Group (RRG) supports achievement of Taituarã's vision by promoting high standards of regulatory management, including the development of regulatory instruments and non-regulatory measures to achieve regulatory outcomes.
  • RRG shall contribute to this purpose by providing feedback to Taituarã officers in relation to regulatory work within the Taituarã work programme, including but not limited to;
    • the Taituarã legal compliance programme, and
    • input into advice to central government on regulatory policy development and implementation, and
    • Taituarã participation in the Government Regulatory Practice Initiative (G-Reg)
    • Any other regulatory projects within the Taituarã work programme 


RRG will:

  • assist Taituarã officers to meet the needs of the sector for legal compliance advice and best practice guidance to meet regulatory requirements
  • assist Taituarã officers to meet the needs of the sector for improvement of leadership, culture, regulatory practice and workforce capability in regulatory organisations and systems
  • contribute to the development of Taituarã positions on issues relevant to regulatory management and policy
  • If there is doubt as to whether a particular issue falls within the scope of RRG, the Chief Executive of Taituarã shall make a binding decision.


RRG is accountable to the Taituarã Chief Executive and may not undertake any action not in accordance with these terms of reference without the approval of the Chief Executive.


The Chief Executive expects RRG to assist Taituarã officers to:

  • provide the Chief Executive with timely advice on issues that fall within its scope (as defined in paragraph 5. above)
  • develop sector responses on issues in response to changes in the regulatory policy and operational environment, or in anticipation of such developments.
  • identify good practice in local authority regulation and disseminate this to the local government sector
  • identify training and professional development needs relevant to local government regulation, and develop or commission programmes to meet those needs


In fulfilling its purpose and responsibilities, RRG may;

  • recommend that the Taituarã Chief Executive appoint working sub-groups to address one-off projects requiring specialist knowledge in addition to that held by the core members of the RRG; and
  • recommend to the Chief Executive  that no more than three specialist advisors be co-opted to any sub- for one-off projects.

In fulfilling its purpose and responsibilities, RRG must

  • ensure that its activities do not conflict with the policies and procedures of Taituarã
  • ensure that its advice meets any Taituarã standards for policy advice, and the professional requirements of finance professionals.


  • The Taituarã Chief Executive may, at her discretion, appoint the Chair of the RRG.  All other RRG members will be appointed or removed by the Chief Executive.  Any vacancy on RRG may only be filled by the Chief Executive having first called for nominations from amongst the membership of Taituarã
  • Members of RRG must be a full member of Taituarã.  Members of any Sub-group need not be members of Taituarã.  The appointment of members from outside the sector to a subcommittee will require the approval of the Chief Executive of Taituarã or her nominee  

Review of Terms of Reference

  • RRG will review these Terms of Reference not less than once every three years. At this time it may make recommendations to the Chief Executive that it considers will ensure RRG can effectively achieve its purpose
  • The Chief Executive may review these Terms of Reference at any time

Current Members


Shayne Harris, General Manager- Corporate and Regulatory - Manawatu District Council


Simon Pickford, General Manager, Community Services - Dunedin City Council

Sally Grey, Manager, Weathertightness and Compliance - Auckland Council

Karel Boakes, Regulatory Manager - Manawatu District Council

Paul Cooper, Regulatory and Compliance Group Manager - Waimate District Council

Tracey Weston, Head of Regulatory Compliance - Christchurch City Council.

2019/20 Report from the Regulatory Reference Group Chair

Shane Harris, General Manager, Corporate and Regulatory, Manawatu District Council

The 2019/20 year saw the revision of six legal compliance modules:

  •  Bylaw-making
  •  Employment
  •  Rates Rebates
  •  Rates Billing and Collection
  •  Dog Control
  •  National Dog Database

The modules were reviewed and updated following legislative changes to the Acts which govern these matters.

We started working on Airbnbs with the Ministry of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). Councils are lacking information regarding the location of Airbnbs. It is only by responding to complaints that the locations of these premises are becoming known. Councils need access to a database that contains information on the location of properties being used as Airbnbs. A submission from Taituarã was presented to the HUD asking that this be given some consideration.

The Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment (MBIE) is now investigating ways of regulating Airbnbs.

We will continue to liaise with MBIE on the scope of regulatory measures required across the country. We met with MBIE Building System Assurance staff and discussed how they were monitoring and investigating concerns about non-compliant building products. This work is ongoing, with new products coming onto the market at an ever-increasing rate. We have developed our response to the Building (Building Products and Methods, Modular Components, and other Matters) Amendment Bill.

The Ministry of Transport (MoT) is looking at the potential update of the drone regulations including:

  •  Registration
  •  E-identification
  •  Geo-fencing
  •  Pilot competency

The regulatory issues related to drones include compliance, enforcement, proportionality and system sustainability, and how local government could assist with these matters. The work also aims to lay the early groundwork for the future integration of drones into the transport system.

We are also working with the Ministry of Transport on micromobility devices and accessible street design. We are currently assisting a working group on this matter.

Lastly, G-REG is rolling out its higher qualifications, with the level 5 course newly released. The level 3 course can be completed by all regulators to promote consistency across both central and local government organisations.