We are delighted to announce that we have received a near record 43 entrants into the 2023 LGFA Taituarā Excellence Awards®. Though the 2018 record of 45 entrants stands for another year, our judges are getting to grips with the strong show of entries ready to announce the category winners, as well as outstanding local government kaimahi, at our Gala Dinner on 8 June 2023.

Our Chief Advisor Raymond Horan says that “in a year with cyclones, reforms, and three waters requests we’ve been pleasantly surprised with the take up” and that “it’s a testament to the resilience and can-do spirit of the sector that there are so many good news stories to tell”.

The full range of local government activity on show

“Modern local government is much more than a provider of utility services” Raymond says. “This year’s entries tell stories about programmes and projects as diverse as forecasting population and dwelling growth, to the community consultation around a new animal shelter, to a coastal management plan.”

The competition for the Minister of Local Government’s Award for Excellence in Council-Community Relations will be particularly intense with 10 entries. Raymond adds that knowledge of, and closeness to our local communities are particular strengths of the sector.

Partnerships an ever-popular category

Competition will also be tough for the Martin Jenkins Award for Collaborative Government Action. This category features the best stories of councils working with each other or with central government.  There are eight entries in this category this year.

“This reinforces one of our key messages to successive governments – that no one sector or group has all the answers to the policy and service challenges of the 21st century. And it's something that stands local communities in good stead as we consider the future of local governance.”

All will be revealed on 8 June 2023

The winners of these awards, and the other five awards: Te Tohu Waka Hourua (the two canoes award for bicultural leadership – sponsored by Buddle Findlay); the Datacom Award for Digital Local Government; the Beca Award for Placemaking; the Capability Group Award for Organisation and People Development, and the GHD Award for Environmental Leadership will be announced at the Taituarā Gala Dinner on the night of 8 June 2023.

The awards are well entrenched in the local government calendar as the night the sector celebrates excellence in local government management. As well as the awards themselves, the winners of the NZ leg of the Australasian Management Challenge, the winner of the Emerging Leader of the Year, and four Overseas Manager Exchanges will be announced.

The 2023 entrants

Auckland Council – The Establishment of Onehunga Community Recycling Centre

Bay of Plenty Regional Council – Toi Moana Rates Collection Project

Bay of Plenty Regional Council – Toi Tangata

Central Hawke's Bay District Council – Jobs in Central Hawkes Bay

Central Hawke's Bay District Council – Ngā Ara Tipuna Ki Tamatea

Christchurch City Council – Christchurch City Information Network (CCIN) - Early Fire Detection Sensor Network

Greater Wellington Regional Council – Building Climate Resilience: partnering with mana whenua to achieve broader outcomes.

Greater Wellington Regional Council – Te Whariki Māori Outcomes Framework

Greater Wellington Regional Council – Whaitua Kāpiti

Hamilton City Council – Dwelling Projection Model

Hamilton City Council – Economic Development Showcase

Hamilton City Council – Hamilton.govt.nz Website redevelopment

Hastings District Council – A Place for Everyone

Hastings District Council – Engaging Our People

Hastings District Council – Te Pae Whira o Pā Harakeke

Hutt City Council – Takai Here Tāngata

Hutt City Council – Te Awa Kairangi Kai Collective

Hutt City Council – Wellbeing Programme Enhancements

Kaipara District Council – Unsealed Road Network Centre of Excellence

Kaipara Moana Regeneration – Kaipara Moana Regeneration Project

Kāpiti Coast District Council – Lorna Irene Reserve Playground

Matamata-Piako District Council – Tell Tom

Nelson City Council – A City for All Ages

Nelson City Council – Community Carbon Footprint

Nelson City Council – Te Pa Harakeke Reserve

Ōtorohanga District Council - Kiwis Can Fly – Ōtorohanga District Council Organisational Realignment

Queenstown-Lakes District Council – Whare Mahuna Luggate Memorial Centre: Aotearoa New Zealand's first Passive House community hall

Tasman District Council – Elections Campaign Stand for Tasman!

Tasman District Council – Partnering to achieve a shared vision for Waimea Inlet

Tasman District Council – Walking and Cycling Strategy - from inception to work on the ground

Tasman District Council and Nelson City Council – Working together to plan for our communities’ futures

Taupō District Council – Taupō Animal Control Shelter

Taupō District Council – Taupō Customer Services Transformation

Taupō District Council – Taupō Town Centre Transformation

Tauranga City Council – Infrastructure Funding and Financing Transport System Plan Funding

Tauranga City Council – Joint Land Ownership: The Right Thing to Do

Thames-Coromandel District Council – Shoreline Management Pathways Project

Waikato District Council – Land Capacity Model

Waimakariri District Council – Regeneration Kaiapoi

Wellington City Council – Pōneke Promise

Wellington City Council – Tūpuki Ora

Whakatane District Council – Better Together Toitū te Kotahitanga

Whangārei District Council – Pūtahi Park